2024 Annual Membership Meeting

June 01, 2024

On Tuesday, May 7, 2024, Salem Electric held its 2024 Annual Membership Meeting at Roth’s Event Center in West Salem. Board President Jeff Anderson highlighted the cooperative’s efforts to keep rates low while maintaining an excellent safety record and keeping the lights on. Despite soaring consumer energy costs nationwide, Salem Electric has managed to limit rate increases to well below the rate of inflation. Anderson also spoke of Salem Electric’s support of energy efficiency and conservation, and the conservation efforts of the Glenn-Gibson Watershed Council in West Salem and the Claggett Creek Watershed Council in Keizer.


2024 Annual Meeting
Jeff Anderson
Jeff Anderson, Salem Electric Board President
Clark Mather
Clark Mathers, Northwest RiverPartners
Jamie Buystedt
Jamie Buystedt, Salem Electric Engineer


Guest speaker Clark Mather from Northwest RiverPartners shared the work they are doing to protect public access to clean, affordable hydropower by advocating for hydropower in the Northwest. Jamie Buystedt, an engineer at Salem Electric, reviewed the cooperative’s wildfire mitigation plan.

Jeff Anderson (incumbent) and Joe Van Meter (incumbent) were elected to serve three-year terms as directors for positions 1 and 2. Directors serve on behalf of the membership to provide mission-based leadership and strategic governance. 

The seven-member Board of Directors is comprised of: Jeff Anderson, Jan Bargen, Dave Bauer, Tim Klarr, John Taylor, Joe Van Meter, and Angie Villery. At their organizational meeting, they elected officers as follows: Jeff Anderson as president, Angie Villery as vice president, and Dave Bauer as secretary/treasurer.

Salem Electric thanks everyone who voted and participated in this year’s meeting and congratulates our elected directors.


Jeff Anderson
Jeff Anderson, Position 1
Joe Van Meter
Joe Van Meter, Position 2