2021 Annual Membership Meeting

June 01, 2021

Salem Electric’s 2021 Annual Membership meeting was held virtually on May 4. During the evening, board president Dave Bauer spoke about Salem Electric’s roots as a cooperative and how Salem Electric has grown and evolved 80 years later. The 2021 scholarship recipients shared their plans for the future, and general manager Tony Schacher provided a recap of the year including how Salem Electric served members during the pandemic, long-term employee retirements, new programs, and SE’s response to the February ice storm. 

The membership elected incumbents Jeff Anderson and Joe Van Meter to three-year terms. The Board also includes directors Jan Bargen, Dave Bauer, Jerry Berger, Cindy Condon, and Angie Onyewuchi. At their organizational meeting the Board elected Dave Bauer to serve as president, Joe Van Meter as vice-president, and Jerry Berger as secretary/treasurer. 

The membership voted to approve amendments to three bylaws and to include a new bylaw authorizing virtual attendance at board meetings.
    Bylaw 2.4     Transfer of Membership
    Bylaw 2.5     Joint Membership
    Bylaw 3.3     Notice of Meetings
    Bylaw 5.7     Virtual Board Meeting Attendance
Salem Electric bylaws are available on the Documents page.


Jeff Anderson
Elected to Position 1 – Jeff Anderson
Joe Van Meter
Elected to Position 2 – Joe Van Meter